One gold and two silver medals won by Kazakhstan boxers at Strandja-2013 international tournament


One gold and two silver medals won by Kazakhstan boxers at Strandja-2013 international tournamentOne gold and two silver medals have been earned by Kazakhstan’s boxers at the 64th Strandja-2013 International Tournament held February 20 to 23 in the Bulgarian capital of Sofia, according to the press release of the Kazakhstan Boxing Federation.

The highest step of the podium belonged to Temirtas Zhusupov in the weight category up to 49 kg, who had been victorius in the final competition over the athlete from Azerbaijan.

Silver medals were given to Zhailauov Ghani (60 kg) who had lost only one point in the finals in the equal fight to the world champion of 2009 the Bulgarian Detelin Dalakliev and to Zhan Kosobutskiy (+ 91 kg) who had lost out to the finalist of the Olympic Games in Athens Victor Zuev, a Byelorussian.

In the tournament quarterfinals Aidar Amirzakov (64 kg) and Bakhytzhan Kozhabekov (69 kg) suffered a setback and dropped out of the competition for a medal losing to the Russians.

Strandja-2013 international tournament hosted representatives of 15 countries.


Boxing: Italia Thunder defeat Astana Arlans 4:1

Feb 25. Tengrinews

Kazakhstan’s Astana Arlans professional boxing team has lost to Dolce & Gabbana Italia Thunder with the score of 1:4, reports.

Romanian Mikhai Nistor, Astana Arlans legionnaire, secured the only victory for his team: he beat Italy’s Klemente Russo in fifth round of the final heavyweight match.

Kazakhstan Roman Shegrinov (61kg), Asset Aysin (73kg), Yelik Abdraimov (54kg) and Estonian Ainar Karlson (85kg) all lost to Dolce & Gabbana Italia Thunder’s boxers.

Kazakhstan team will fight against the German Eagles on March 1 in Almaty in the final group stage match.

World Series of Boxing (WSB). 9th tour. Milan (Italy)

Dolce & Gabbana Italia Thunder (Italy) VS Astana Arlans (Kazakhstan) – 4:1

61rg: Branimir Stankovic (Serbia) – Roman Shegrinov (Kazakhstan) – 3:0 (49:45, 49:45, 49:45);

73kg: Michel Tavares (France) – Asset Aysin (Kazakhstan) – 3:0 (50:45, 50:45, 50:45);

85kg: Abdelhafid Benchabla (Algeria) – Ainar Karlson (Estonia) – 3:0 (50:45, 50:45, 49:46);

54kg: Vincenzo Picardi (Italy) – Yelik Abdraimov (Kazakhstan) – 3:0 (48:47, 48:47, 48:47);

91kg: Clemente Russo (Italy) – Mihai Nistor (Romania) – 1:2 (47:48, 46:49, 49:46).