TURKSOY Cultural Alliance Holds Session in Astana, Reelects Kazakh SG

Sep 20. MFA

TURKSOY Cultural Alliance Holds Session in Astana, Reelects Kazakh SGTURKSOY, which stands for the Joint Administration of Turkic Arts and Culture, held its 29th session of the Permanent Council of Ministers in Astana today, on September 20. Senior culture officials from 14 members, including sovereign states and autonomous units of federal states, reviewed the projects implemented and agreed plans for the future cooperation in the interests of Turkophone peoples they represent.

The session was opened by TURKSOY’s Provisional Coordinator, Kazakhstan’s Minister of Culture Mukhtar Kul-Muhammad.

“I believe we are getting closer through the cooperating in realisation of various joint projects, such as the Operaliya theatre, a theater of Central Asian nations, the Eurasia film festival, and other international contests,” he highlighted.

The meeting examined the implementation of projects designed to strengthen cultural bonds between the Turkophone nations. Following the extensive and fruitful discussions, the participants adopted the session’s Final Declaration.

Duisen Kaseinov, eminent Kazakh musician and former Minister of Culture, was reelected TURKSOY’s Secretary-General to extend his term until 2014 (began in 2008). The Council participants also appointed Turkey’s Minister of Culture and Tourism Eltugrul Gunay to replace Mukhtar Kul-Muhammed the organization’s Provisional Coordinator.

Also during the day, Prime Minister Karim Massimov received the heads of the delegation of the TURKSOY countries’ participants and exchanged views on ways to enhance human links within the Turkic-speaking world.

The heads of delegation also visited the Kazakhstan central concert hall and participated in the opening ceremony of an artistic exhibition in the Presidential Centre of Culture in Astana.

T?RKSOY is an international cultural organization of countries with Turkic populations, speaking languages belonging to the Turkic language family. The organization has its roots in meetings during 1992 in Baku and Istanbul, where the ministers of culture of such states declared their commitment to cooperate in a joint cultural framework. T?RKSOY was subsequently established by an agreement signed on 12 July 1993 in Almaty. In 1996, an official cooperation between T?RKSOY and UNESCO was established, involving mutual consultations and reciprocal representation.

The TURKSOY’s members include Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turkey, the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Moldova’s autonomous region of Gagauzia, and six republics within the Russian Federation (Altai, Bashkortostan, Khakassia, Sakha (Yakutia), Tatarstan, and Tyva).