Heads of 30 states confirmed their participation in OSCE summit

November 25. Interfax-Kazakhstan. Astana

Heads of 30 states confirmed their participation in OSCE summitSome 30 heads of states and 11 heads of governments have confirmed their participation in the OSCE summit in Astana, a source familiar with the situation told Interfax-Kazakhstan.

At the moment the confirmations have been received from Austria, Afghanistan, Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Cyprus, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Finland, France, Croatia, Montenegro Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Armenia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Moldova and Georgia.

According to some sources, the Romanian president may arrive in Astana as well.

“Great Britain, Australia and Canada have not yet decided who will represent their countries at the summit,” the source said.

The delegates from Denmark, Iceland, Ireland, Malta, Egypt, Tunisia, Mongolia, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan have yet to be confirmed.

Astana also expects the Prime Ministers of Belgium, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Norway, Estonia, Netherlands, Greece, Monaco and Vatican City. The Federal Chancellor of Germany has also confirmed her participation.

As reported, the official delegation from the U.S. at the OSCE summit will be led by State Secretary Hillary Clinton and will comprise over 200 U.S. governmental officials.

Astana also expects to Vice Prime Ministers of Israel, the Czech Republic and Spain, the Foreign Ministers of Algeria, Andorra, Jordan, Sweden, South Korea, Thailand, Portugal. Japan will be represented by Vice-Minister of Foreign Affairs.

“In total the summit will be attended by delegations from 65 countries,” according to the source.

Astana will also welcome heads of seven international organizations: UN Secretary General, NATO, OIC, the Council of Europe, the president of the European Council (EU), CIS executive secretary, the secretary general of the EurAsEC.

The High Commissioner on National Minorities, director of the OSCE/ODIHR Bureau, the head of the CTBTO (Organization of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty) are expected to attend the OSCE summit held in Astana on December 1-2.