Vinokourov does not have to pay $1.7 million fine

Oct 20. Reuters. PARIS

Vinokourov does not have to pay $1.7 million fineKazakhstan’s Alexandre Vinokourov will no longer have to pay a $1.7 million fine to cycling’s governing body after the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) upheld his appeal.

Vinokourov was ordered by the International Cycling Union (UCI) to pay the equivalent of a year’s salary after failing two dope tests during the 2007 Tour de France.

“There is no legal basis for UCI to claim the payment… Accordingly, Mr Vinokourov is not obliged to make the payment requested by the UCI,” CAS said in a statement on Wednesday.

Vinokourov and his Astana team left the 2007 Tour after the Kazakh was found guilty of blood doping after winning a time trial in Albi.

That year, Italian Cristian Moreni tested positive for testosterone and paid the fine without protesting.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20101020/sp_nm/us_cycling_doping_vinokourov_fine_1

Share